Locations & Hours
Buffalo Office: 92 Franklin Street, Buffalo, NY 14202 Monday - Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm
Elma Town Hall: Wednesdays 9:00am -1:00pm and 2:00pm -5:00pm (Plastic Permit Holders Only, Payment with Credit Card Only & Closed 1pm-2pm)
The Erie County Clerk's Office processes Pistol Permits for Erie County residents under terms of applicable New York State law. Following the receipt of a completed application as well as criminal & mental hygiene record checks, the approval or denial of a permit is the decision of the Erie County Supreme Court Justice who serves as the Licensing Officer.
- Application Process
- Find a Duly Authorized Instructor
- Sign up to track your Application (new applicants will automatically be enrolled)
Existing Pistol Permit Holders
The Licensing Officer recommends that you take a “conceal carry” class from a certified instructor in addition to the mandatory safety course. The “conceal carry” class is deemed an advanced course and requires that participants have obtained a pistol permit prior to enrolling. Please note that this office is unable to recommend specific instructors.
- Registering\Deleting\Changes\Transfers\Deaths\Lost or Stolen Permits
- Adding / Removing a Firearm by MAIL
Duly Authorized Instructors
Firearms Instructors are required to self-certify in Erie County that they are a Duly Authorized Instructor pursuant to New York State Penal Law section 265.00(19) and that the course curriculum for the NYS Concealed Carry Firearm Safety Training they offer meets the requirements of New York State Penal Law section 400.00(19). Instructions to self-certify as a Duly Authorized Instructor in Erie County
NYS Pistol Permit Recertification
Pistol permit recertifications are mandatory pursuant to the New York State SAFE Act, and are administered by the New York State Police, NOT the Erie County Clerk.
However, the County Clerk's Office would be happy to assist: You may go to the NYS Police website at https://firearms.troopers.ny.gov/pprecert and complete the online recertification or you may print the form and mail it to the NYS Police.
Please return the completed form to:
New York State Police
Pistol Permit Bureau
1220 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12226-2252
Pistol Office Fees
|Change from Paper to Plastic||$18.00|
|Transfer County (see transfers details)||$8.00 & $5.00|
|2" x 2" Application Photo (front office)||$10.00|
|Name Change||$5.00 (Plastic) / $3.00 (Paper)|
$5.00 (Plastic) / $3.00 (Paper)
|Handgun Registration||$5.00 (Plastic) / $3.00 (Paper)|
|Handgun Removal||$5.00 (Plastic) / $3.00 (Paper)|
|Pistol Permit Reissue (Plastic cards: Lost/Stolen, Poor Condition)||$7.00|
*Please Do Not Send Cash in the Mail (Check or Money Order only)