The County Clerk's Office is always looking for ways to help our citizens interested in starting a new business in Erie County. Starting a business can be a long and detailed process but with the right resources, it does not have to be a frustrating or tedious one. That is why we have created a "Starting Your Business" brochure which outlines the resources available to local businesses and answers a number of questions new business owners may have.
If you would like your FREE copy of the "Starting Your Business" brochure click on the link to print or request one by contacting us or calling 716-858-8785, option 5.
The most common forms of business structures are sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, and corporation. If you plan to conduct business under a name other than your own as a sole proprietorship or partnership, you are required to register the name. New York State Business Law Section 130 prohibits anyone from doing business under a name other than his / her own or as a partnership unless an Assumed Name Certificate is filed in the Clerk's Office. (These certificates are also very loosely referred to as "Doing Business As" (DBA) certificates.) Assumed Name Certificates or Business Certificates must contain specific information, such as the names, addresses, and ages (ONLY if under 18) of the persons filing the Certificate. Keep in mind that registration of an assumed name in the Clerk's Office is NOT a license to conduct business; a separate license may be required, depending on the type of business in which you intend to engage. To determine whether special licenses are required, you should contact the New York State Department of State, or the City or Town in which you wish to operate your business.
Business Certificates can be filed by mail. Certified copies are needed for many business purposes including opening a business checking account.
Print the form found here, complete the form, and have your signature notarized. Two (2) certified copies of the filed business certificate will be returned.
Send the original form, $35.00 check or money order payable to Erie County Clerk, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to: Erie County Clerk's Office, 92 Franklin Street, Buffalo, NY 14202 Attn: Business Center
- Getting Started
- Business Certificate Name Filings
- General Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, and Corporations
- Change or Discontinue a Business
Forms & Resources
- Starting Your New Business Brochure
- Business Certificate
- Business Certificate for Partners
- Amendment of a Business Name Certificate
- Certificate of Discontinuance of a Business
- Certificate of Discontinuance of a Partnership
- Small business/self-employed tax center
- Erie County Legal Publications
- Federal Business Opportunities
Small Business Contact Info
Erie County Basement Records: (716) 858-8785 (option 4)
8th Judicial District Court Resource Center: (716) 845-1816
|Business Certificate Filing||$25.00|
|Amendment of Assumed Name Certificate||$25.00|
|Certified Copy of Business Certificate||$5.00|
|Certificate of Discontinuance of Business Certificate||$0.00|