Erie County Certificate of Residence Instructions
Establishing eligibility and residency:
a) You must be a New York State resident for one year AND an Erie County resident for six months.
b) Certificates will be issued for students applying to a two-year SUNY/CUNY Community College located in New York State AND outside of the County of Erie.
Proof of Residency:
- You must be able to prove that you were a New York State resident for one year.
- You must also prove that you are an Erie County resident for the past six months. To prove the Erie County residency, we will need proof from at least 6 months ago.
- If you have a NYS Issued Photo ID (Driver’s License, Permit or Non-Driver’s License) issued over one (1) year ago with your current Erie County address, no further proof is necessary.
- If you do not have a NYS Issued Photo ID issued over 1 year ago with your current Erie County address, you must provide:
- One piece of Acceptable ID (see below) from over a year ago proving NYS residency AND
- One piece of Acceptable ID (see below) from over six (6) months ago proving Erie County residency
- ** If you have moved to a different address in the prior 6 months, you must provide proof for each address that you have resided in during the 6-month period.
- The ONLY acceptable residency identification is any of the following, in your name with current address:
- NYS Issued Photo ID
- Property Tax Bill
- Utility Bill (Gas, Electric, Phone, Cable, Water)
- Current Lease Agreement
- Bank Statement
- Parent(s) Federal or State Tax return showing student as a dependent
- W-2 Statement - MUST have been issued more than 6 months ago
- Pay Stub
- Car Insurance Identification Card
- High School Identification - MUST be immediate past or current year
- High School Report Card/Transcript
- Pistol Permit
- Fishing License
- Native American Address Verification
Please note: Documents with a Post Office Box address are not acceptable forms for proof.
How to Apply:
Complete all information on application and have application notarized - DO NOT SIGN APPLICATION UNTIL YOU ARE IN THE PRESENCE OF THE NOTARY. to The application can be notarized at most banks, schools, town or village administrative offices, UPS stores, and various other locations. The Comptroller’s Office does have notaries on staff, but there is no guarantee that one will be available.
Certificate Issuance Schedule:
Application Submission Period
July 1 to October 31
November 1 to February 28
November 15 to March 15
May 1 to August 31
Within 5 days of course start date
a) Incomplete applications will not be processed until all of the required paperwork is received.
b) E-mailed applications will have a certificate issued within 3-5 business days after the required, completed paperwork and documentation is received by the Comptroller’s Office. If the student cannot e-mail their application, certificates will be issued while you wait for in-person processing at the Comptroller’s Office.
c) Completed Certificates are given (if a walk-in) or emailed (if sent to us at COR@erie.gov ) to the student to bring to his/her respective school(s). Beginning November 1, 2022, all certificates will be issued via e-mail.
d) It is the responsibility of the student to get the Certificate of Residence to his/her respective Community College(s). For all certificates that are e-mailed to the student, the student can typically forward that e-mail to their community college.
a) State Education Law, Sections 6301 and 6305, requires you to submit to the college of your choice a Certificate of Residence. This requirement is noted in each college admissions brochure. If you fail to submit the Certificate of Residence, you will be charged the nonresident tuition. It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that the application for the Certificate of Residence is filed with the Erie County Comptrollers’ Office on or before the deadline.
b) Certificates are issued no earlier than sixty days (60) prior to the start of the semester and no later than the deadline dates mentioned above. However, if you are taking a course during a mini-session or a course that begins after the start of the semester, your application must be submitted within five days of the start of the course.
c) A certificate is valid for one year.
d) Certificates are issued for a specific school.
If you attend classes at more than one school, a certificate is required for each school. Classes taken online at more than one school also require a certificate for each school.
Email COR@erie.gov or call (716) 858-8400 during our regular business hours from 8 am - 4 pm, Monday through Friday.