Skip to main content

Mayor's Office

The Mayor's Office consists of an elected Mayor.  The Mayor is elected for a four-year term.   A Deputy Mayor is appointed each year, in April, at the Village annual meeting.

The Mayor is the chief executive officer in the Village. The Mayor serves as the Chairperson of the Board of Trustees (Village Board) at all meetings. The Mayor is only required to vote at Board meetings when a quorum is not present or in the event of a tie vote by the Trustees. The Mayor, by law, is an ex-officio member of all Village committees.

The Mayor appoints all employees who work for the Village, signs all checks for claims, contracts, permits and licenses, appoints a Deputy Mayor, is the budget officer for the Village or may appoint a person to do so, and has other responsibilities as prescribed by New York State law.

Trustee E. Peter Forrestel is the appointed Deputy Mayor for the current year [April 2023– March 2024].

Mayor of the Village of Akron: Brian T. Perry Term 2023-2027