Skip to main content

Erie County DA John Flynn Named President of DAASNY

Press Release from the District Attorneys Association of the State of New York


Flynn DAASNY PresidentJune 26, 2023 – Albany, New York. At its annual Summer Conference, the District Attorneys Association of the State of New York (DAASNY) installed a new President and Executive Board. Erie County District Attorney John J. Flynn was sworn in as President of the Association. DA Flynn currently serves as President of the National District Attorneys Association. He will be stepping down as President after his one-year term expires next month.

“It is an honor to serve as the leader of this organization,” said President Flynn. “I extend my gratitude to the members of DAASNY for their confidence in me to represent this association and their commitment to enhancing our ability to serve the people of New York through advocacy, support, and training. We became prosecutors to protect the rights of our citizens, to create safer communities, and to obtain justice for the victims of crime. I look forward to representing my fellow district attorneys and to having a voice on criminal justice-related issues that impact the citizens of this State.”

Also sworn in were DAASNY’s Executive Board Members: Richmond County District Attorney Michael McMahon; Rensselaer County District Attorney Mary Pat Donnelly; Ontario County District Attorney James Ritts, and Suffolk County District Attorney Raymond Tierney.

“It has been a highlight of my career to serve as President of DAASNY,” said immediate past DAASNY President, Washington County District Attorney J. Anthony Jordan. “I am grateful for all the valuable ideas that are shared among prosecutors from offices big and small from all over our wonderful and diverse State. I thank DA Flynn for supporting me during my presidency. I wish DA Flynn the best of luck and I promise to assist him in any way during his presidency.”

The summer conference was held in Saratoga Springs, New York, and was attended by more than 100 district attorneys and their executive staffs. Prosecutors discussed issues facing their offices, including challenges with recruitment and retention, solutions to efficiently and timely comply with discovery, as well as ethics and training.

The New York Prosecutors Training Institute (NYPTI) presented two Prosecutor of the Year Awards. The winners were selected from nominations by district attorneys across the State. The awards are given to New York prosecutors who have enhanced our criminal justice system in the courtroom and in the local community.

This year’s winners:

Appellate Prosecutor of the YearDAASNY Award Gendron Team

Tammy Smiley, Nassau County District Attorney’s Office

Trial Advocacy Prosecutor of the Year Award – Presented to the team of prosecutors who handled People of the State of New York v. Payton Gendron, the mass shooting at the Tops supermarket in Buffalo, which occurred in May 2022.

Gary Hackbush, Erie County District Attorney’s Office

John Feroleto, Erie County District Attorney’s Office

Ryan Haggerty, Erie County District Attorney’s Office

Noha Elnakib, Erie County District Attorney’s Office

Justin Caldwell, Erie County District Attorney’s Office

DAASNY was formed in 1909 as an organization for prosecutors in the State of New York, to provide for the exchange of information and views with respect to the conduct of their offices, the New York State criminal justice system, and the criminal law and its operation. DAASNY represents the elected and appointed prosecutors of the 62 New York State district attorney’s offices, the New York State Attorney General’s Office, the Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs, and the Office of the New York City Special Narcotics Prosecutor. New York’s prosecutors share a common goal: to do justice on behalf of the People of our State, by convicting the guilty, exonerating the innocent, and safeguarding the integrity of the criminal justice system.