Skip to main content


Please be advised that these subcommittees will review candidates for positions at the level of deputy department head and below and then make recommendations for those positions to the Executive Committee. The subcommittees will not examine applicants at the department head level or perform any other functions.

Community Enrichment

The Community Enrichment Subcommittee has oversight over the County’s relationships with and funding for the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library system, Erie Community College, cultural organizations, and tourism and convention services including the Buffalo and Erie County Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Lisa Ludwig and Cindy Abbott Letro, co-chairs

Don Boswell, President and CEO, WNY Public Broadcasting Association
Catherine Schweitzer, Executive Director, Baird Foundation
Louis Grachos, Executive Director, Albright Knox Art Gallery
Ted Pietrzak, former Executive Director of Burchfield Penney Art Center
Tod Kniazuk, Executive Director, Arts Services Initiative of WNY
Andrew Sako, President NYSUT ECC Faculty Federation

Economic Development/Energy and Environment

The Energy and Environment Subcommittee has oversight over the County’s Department of Environment and Planning, including the Division of Sewerage Management and environmental matters, as well as the County’s parks system and the Erie County Water Authority.  Additionally, this committee has oversight over the County’s relationship with the Erie County Industrial Development Agency and local industrial development agencies, as well as business and job development and creation.

James Eagan and Jennifer Parker, co-chairs

Jordan Levy
Paul Ciminelli, President and CEO, Ciminelli Real Estate Corporation
Eric Reich, Campus Labs
Sam Magavern- Director-Partnership for the Public Good
Steve Weiss, Canon Heyman and Weiss, LLP, housing preservation attorney
Howard Zemsky, Larkin Development Group
Otis Glover, Director of Strategic Planning and Institutional Advancement, Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy
Aaron Bartley - Executive Director, PUSH (People United for Sustainable Housing)
George Grasser, Livable WNY
Erin Heaney, Executive Director of Clean Air Coalition
Larry Jasinski, former Commissioner of Parks
Jim Hart, AFSCME
Larry Rubin, former Commissioner of E&P

Government Affairs

The Government Affairs Subcommittee has oversight over a range of administrative and related matters including personnel issues, the Department of Law, and legal claims against the County.

Alisa Lukasiewicz, chair

Denise Szymura, CSEA
Chris O‘Brien, O’Brien Boyd, PC
Scott Freedman, Lippes Matthias Wexler Friedman LLP
Gary Joseph, Esq.
John Flynn, Town of Tonawanda Attorney
Scot Whitbeck, Esq.

Health and Human Services

The Health and Human Services Subcommittee has oversight over the County’s largest department, Social Services, as well as the range of social, mental and physical health issues in several departments including Health, Mental Health, Senior Services and the Youth Bureau.

Brenda McDuffie and Patty DeVinney, co-chairs

Elaine Becker, retired Director of Public Health Nursing, Erie County
Jim Sampson, CEO, Gateway-Longview
Kevin Kumor, CSEA
Joan Guarino, former First Deputy Commissioner of Social Services
Jeff Pirrone, Supervisor, Oishei Foundation’s Mobile Safety-Net Team
Dr. Thomas Rosenthal, MD, Chairman, UB Department of Family Medicine
Denise Krause, Clinical Professor and Associate Dean for Community Engagement and Alumni Relations, UB School of Social Work
Gaen Hooley, NYSNA
Belle Walls Montree, Vice President, Behavioral Health Services, Child and Family Services

Public Safety

The Public Safety Subcommittee has oversight over the County’s law enforcement and safety functions, including Central Police Services, Emergency Services, Emergency Medical Services and Probation.

Toni Vazquez, chair

Dr. Rosa Gonzalez , Chair of the Emergency Management Department, Erie Community College
Bob Pyjas, CSEA
Dean Messing, retired Deputy Commissioner, Emergency Services
John Buttino, former Emergency Services employee and Eggertsville Hose Company Chief
Frank Housh, former Assistant District Attorney
Scott Patronik, Chief of Technology, Erie County Sheriff’s Office
Paul Moskal, retired FBI Special Agent
Donna Berry, former Chief, Buffalo Police Department

Public Works

The Public Works Subcommittee has oversight over the County’s Department of Public Works and all County road, highway, bridge, and building maintenance and construction infrastructure projects.

Ken Peterson, chair

John Loffredo, former Commissioner of Public Works
Mark Wegner, Superintendent of Highways, Town of Cheektowaga
Darlene Washington, CSEA
Ken Jennetti, AFSCME
Paul Ingham, Northeast Area Manager, Siemens
David Pawlik, President, CSS Construction (former Commissioner of Housing/Community Development for City of Buffalo and Vice President at Savarino Construction)
Pat Reilly, President, John W. Danforth
Dan Boody, Business Agent, IUPAT District Council 4
Rhonda Ricks, Inclusion Development Associates, Inc.