APRIL 10, 2007

FINANCE & MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 6

ALL MEMBERS PRESENT. CHAIRPERSON MARINELLI PRESENT AS EX-OFFICIO MEMBER.

- 1. RESOLVED, the following item is hereby referred to the GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:
- a. COMM. 7M-10 (2007)

 NYSAC: Comptroller Opinion on Election Chargebacks
 (5-0)
- 2. RESOLVED, the following items are hereby received and filed:
- a. COMM. 1E-7 (2007)

 COMPTROLLER: Erie Community College City Campus Bond Resolution (5-0)
- b. INTRO 6-8 (2007)

WEINSTEIN, MILLS, RANZENHOFER & LOCKLEAR: Supporting the Proposed Changes to the NYS Real Property Tax Law (5-0)

- c. COMM. 6M-17 (2007) **ECFSA:** Sale of Tax Liens (5-0)
- d. COMM. 7D-7 (2007) **BUDGET DIRECTOR:** NYSAC Membership (5-0)
- e. COMM. 7M-14 (2007)
 SENATOR STACHOWSKI & ASSEMBLYMEMBER HOYT: Sale of Tax Liens to Xpand (5-0)
- 2. INTRO 7-1 (2007)

WEINSTEIN, MILLS, RANZENHOFER & LOCKLEAR

WHEREAS, On February 15, 2007 the Erie County Legislature approved Intro. 4-1 (2007), a resolution that addressed the "STAR Programs Application in Erie County and the Role of the Local State Delegation," and

WHEREAS, prior to the Legislatures passing of this resolution, on February 2, 2007, Senator Mary Lou Rath sponsored legislation in the New York State Senate that provided for the inclusion of sales tax revenue shared by a county with the school district in the STAR savings calculation, and

WHEREAS, Senator Rath's proposed legislation, New York State Senate Bill # S2333, is an act that amends the New York State Real Property Tax Law, in relation to the School Tax Relief Program's (STAR) savings calculation, and

WHEREAS, Senate Bill 2333 has been read twice and ordered printed, and when it is printed, it will be committed to the Committee on Local Government for further review and consideration, and

WHEREAS, This bill has been amended to include Senators Dale M. Volker, Serphin R. Maltese, James S. Alesi, John A. DeFrancisco, George D. Maziarz, Michael F. Nozzolio, and Joseph E. Robach, and if approved, this legislation will have a tremendous tax relieving impact on Western New Yorkers, and

WHEREAS, Assemblyman Robin Schimminger has sponsored a corresponding bill (A06485) in the New York State Assembly.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT

RESOLVED, that this honorable body goes on record supporting New York State Senate Bill 2333, sponsored by Senators Rath, Alesi, Maltese, and Volker, and New York State Assembly Bill 06485 sponsored by Assemblyman Schimminger that provides for the inclusion of sales tax revenue shared by a county with the school district in the STAR savings calculation, and be it further

RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honorable Eliot Spitzer, Governor of the State of New York, the Honorable Sheldon Silver, Speaker of the New York State Assembly, the Honorable Joseph L. Bruno, Majority Leader of the New York State Senate, the Honorable New York State Senators Mary Lou Rath, Dale M. Volker, James. S. Alesi, and Serphin R. Maltese, the entire local state delegation, to members of the Legislative branch serving in Monroe, Westchester, Onondaga, and Wayne Counties. (5-0)

3. COMM. 7E-11 (2007)

COUNTY EXECUTIVE

WHEREAS, medical research is an important component of economic development of the life sciences industry in Erie County, and

WHEREAS, the Hauptman-Woodward Research Institute is in need of funding that is not currently designated in the 2007 Eric County budget.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT

RESOLVED, that authorization is provided to fund this request, in the amount of \$45,000, as designated from the available balance in the 2006 Arts & Cultural Tourism Development and Marketing cost center, to be reappropriated into 2007, and be it further

RESOLVED, that, pursuant to this legislation, the County Executive be authorized to enter into contract in the amount of \$45,000 with the Hauptman-Woodward Research Institute, and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the Legislature be directed to send certified copies of this Resolution to the Director of the Division of Budget, Management and Finance; the Commissioner of the Department of Environment and Planning; the County Attorney; the Comptroller; and the County Executive.

(5-0)

ROBERT B. REYNOLDS, JR. CHAIRPERSON