Town of Clarence Ethics Board Minutes January 15, 2025

Call to Order

Chairman Aaron Aisen called the meeting to order at 8:05 AM. Present: Aaron Aisen, Ronald Benson, Lisa Casey, Debra Fine, Dan Hamlin, Bob Olczak, Bill Weisbeck. Absent: None

Final Approval of November 20, 2024 Minutes

Motion by Dan Hamlin, seconded by Robert Olczak to approve the November 20, 2024 minutes.

Ayes unanimous, motion passed

Organizational Business

On January 8, 2025 the Town Board approved the appointment of Lisa Casey to serve on the Ethics Board.

New Board officers: Aaron Aisen (Chairman), Daniel Hamlin (Vice-Chairman), Bill Weisbeck (Secretary)

Complaint Review Committee: Ronald Benson, Robert Olczak, Bill Weisbeck

Disclosure Review Committee: Lisa Casey, Debra Fine, Daniel Hamlin

Motion by Aaron Aisen, seconded by Daniel Hamlin to approve the nominations.

Ayes unanimous, motion passed.

Board members completed their Annual Disclosure Statements.

Discussion

Goals for 2025 include updating the Ethics Board Handbook, ethics opinions, and Frequently Asked Questions. The Board will continue to educate, review disclosures and investigate when necessary.

At the recommendation of the American Bar Association, Aaron Aisen advised that he is an attorney, but that even as Chair, he is not the attorney for the Ethics Board. The Town Attorney, Larry Meckler, and his office provide all legal advice to the Board.

Executive Session

Motion by Bill Weisbeck, seconded by Daniel Hamlin to enter Executive Session pursuant to New York State Open Meetings Law 105 (1) (f) [consideration of] ...matters leading to the appointment, employment, promotion, discipline, suspension, dismissal of a particular person or corporation.

Ayes: Aaron Aisen, Ronald Benson, Lisa Casey, Debra Fine, Dan Hamlin, Bob Olczak, Bill Weisbeck

Nays: none, motion passed **Executive Session actions**

Annual Disclosures: The annual disclosures were reviewed and approved for filing.

Transactional Disclosures: There were no additional transactional disclosures to review.

Motion to exit Executive Session

Lisa Casey motioned, seconded by Ronald Benson to exit Executive Session at 9:10 AM.

Ayes: Aaron Aisen, Ronald Benson, Lisa Casey, Debra Fine, Dan Hamlin, Bob Olczak, Bill Weisbeck.

Nays: none, motion passed

Questions/Comments/Concerns

There were no additional questions, comments or concerns.

Next meeting:

February 19, 2025 at 8:00 AM in the Hallock Conference Room, Town Hall

There being no further business, Chairman Aisen adjourned the meeting at 9:38 AM

Respectively Submitted by Debra Fine January 17, 2024